Serj Tankian Has Detailed His 'Elasticity' EP

Watch a video for the title track now
Serj Tankian Has Detailed His 'Elasticity' EP
Serj Tankian has returned with details of his Elasticity EP. The five-track release arrives March 19 via Alchemy Recordings/BMG.

As previously reported, Elasticity features five songs that were intended for a new System of a Down album that never came to be. The EP's title track can be heard below alongside a video from Vlad Kaptur.

Tankian explains of his latest in a statement, "When I conceived possibly doing another record with the guys from System of a Down a few years back, I started working on a set of songs that I arranged in rock format for that purpose. As we weren't able to see eye to eye on the vision going forward with an SOAD album, I decided to release these songs under my moniker."

Tankian's most recent solo full-length was 2013's classical symphony Orca, and he delivered a jazz-fusion full-length as Jazz-Iz-Christ that same year. His last proper rock album was 2012's Harakiri.

Last November, System of a Down returned to action with singles "Protect the Land" and "Genocidal Humanoidz," marking their first new music in 15 years.

Outside of SOAD and his solo work, Tankian has contributed to a new Gang of Four tribute album and will be the subject of a documentary later this month.


1. Elasticity
2. Your Mom
3. Rumi
4. How Many Times?
5. Electric Yerevan

Pre-order Elasticity.