Matthew Tavares and BADBADNOTGOOD's Leland Whitty Detail New Album 'Visions'

The 11-track effort arrives in March
Matthew Tavares and BADBADNOTGOOD's Leland Whitty Detail New Album 'Visions'
BADBADNOTGOOD sax player Leland Whitty and former keyboardist/guitarist Matthew Tavares slid out new song "Blue" before the end of last year, and the pair have now shared the details of their collaborative album.

Tavares and Whitty will release new album Visions on March 20 through Mr Bongo

Eleven tracks in length, Visions was almost entirely performed and recorded in a single take, spanning what the duo call "the extremes of the avant-garde to the gentlest moments of beauty."

The suite of songs finds Tavares on piano and guitar, while Whitty plays saxophone and flute. The pair are joined by Julian Anderson-Bowes on bass and Matthew Chalmers on drums. 

"With this record we made a suite of music that combines composition and improvisation from a purely emotional place," the duo explained in a statement. "Where one starts and the other ends is constantly changing; sometimes entire sections of music are completely improvised and other times completely composed. With the areas between these two approaches blurred, the resulting hour of music has an organic quality."

Tavares officially confirmed his departure from BADBADNOTGOOD in October of last year. He had performed with the group intermittently after taking time away from the band's tour schedule in 2017 to "explore songwriting and studio creativity."

Tavares released debut solo album Déjàvu as Matty last year, while BADBADNOTGOOD last delivered their IV album in 2016.

Late last year, the group teamed with vocalist Jonah Yano to cover a soul rarity for Light in the Attic.


1. Through the Looking Flass
2. Woah
3. Blue
4. Symbols of Transformation
5. Visions of You
6. Eyes
7. Awakenings
8. Heat of the Moon
9. Black Magic
10. Symbols of Transformation II
11. Living Water Assembly