Alice Coltrane's 'Turiya Sings' Gets Official Reissue

The 1982 devotional recording will arrive without overdubs in July
Alice Coltrane's 'Turiya Sings' Gets Official Reissue
In the early 1980s, Alice Coltrane layered vocals, organ, strings and synthesizers for Turiya Sings, a cassette release only available to the artist's Sai Anantam Ashram community. Now, the devotional songs have been remixed and remastered for their first official reissue.

Arriving July 16 via Impulse! Records/UMe, Kirtan: Turiya Sings features pared-down versions of the original recordings featuring only Coltrane's voice and organ. These recordings were discovered by her son and collaborator Ravi Coltrane in 2004, three years before her death.

"As dynamic and bold as the original version is, hearing my mother sing and play in this stripped-down, intimate setting revealed the true heart and soul of these songs," Ravi wrote in a statement. "In that moment, I knew people needed to hear Turiya Sings in this context."

Turiya Sings has previously seen unofficial release on CD and LP, while its original cassette release last sold on Discogs for just over $300 CAD in 2017.

"Krishna Krishna" arrives alongside today's news, and you can hear it below.

Ravi Coltrane continued

On this album, your ear will be turned toward the sound of the blues, to gospel, to the Black American church, often combined with the Carnatic singing style of southern India. You will hear beautiful harmonies influenced by Alice's Detroit/Motown roots, her bebop roots, John Coltrane's impact, and her absorption of European classical music, particularly that of her favorite: Igor Stravinsky. Yet, at the same time, this is functional music. Its purpose is, with light and love, to praise the names of the Supreme. On this album, your heart and spirit will be turned toward divine inspiration and appreciation.

Kirtan: Turiya Sings:

1. Jagadishwar
2. Jai Ramachandra
3. Krishna Krishna
4. Rama Katha
5. Yamuna Tira Vihari
6. Charanam
7. Govinda Hari
8. Hara Siva
9. Pranadhana

Pre-order Kirtan: Turiya Sings.