El-P Announces New Instrumental LP

El-P Announces New Instrumental LP
Earlier this year, alt hip-hop guru El-P announced that his long-running label Definitive Jux would be going on hiatus. Instead of helming the label, the accomplished producer/rapper said that he'd be focusing on "the fun stuff: sitting in the studio and immersing myself in music, performing it for for my fans when the time comes and whatever (or wherever) else might be out there creatively for me." That new outlook has resulted in a brand new instrumental album.

Titled Weareallgoingtoburninhellmegamixxx3, the new El-P offering follows 2003's Weareallgoingtoburninhellmegamixxx and 2008's Weareallgoingtoburninhellmegamixxx2. The previous two records were limited-edition mixtapes, but El-P revealed that this release was a full-on studio effort.

"With the past Megamixxes, I never sat down and really tried to make a record," he explains in a statement. "It was more like, 'Here's a bunch of cool stuff you haven't heard.' I look at this new one as a proper album. Me calling it a Megamixxx is just an excuse to get to Volume Three of anything."

Weareallgoingtoburninhellmegamixxx3 will be released on August 3 via Gold Dust.


1. "Take You Out At The Ball Game"

2. "Whores:The Movie"

3. "Meanstreak (In 3 Parts)"

4. "DMSC"

5. "Drunk With A Loaded Pistol"

6. "Time Won't Tell"

7. "Secret Police Man's Ball"

8. "I Got This" (El-P remix)

9. "Jump Fence, Run, Live"

10. "He Hit Her So She Left"

11. "Driving Down The Block" (El-P Rremix)< br> 
12. "Honda Redux"

13. "How To Serve Man (Stripped)"

14. "Contagious Snippet" (Wilder Zoby featuring El-P)

15. "Eat My Garbage 2"